CBN enters by-polls mode

News pulse, Politics | admin | December 20, 2011 at 5:16 am


With bypolls round the corner, Telugu Desam chief, Mr N. Chandrababu Naidu has kept himself busy for the last few days holding review meetings with constituency leaders and active workers to choose candidates for the polls, and drawing up strategy to take on the TRS, Congress and YSR Congress. Bypolls will be conducted to seven Assembly constituencies: 6 in Telangana region — Nagarkurnool, Kollapur, Mahbubnagar, Adilabad, Kamareddy, Station Ghanpur — and Kovur in Nellore district.

The Assembly Speaker, Mr Nadendla Manohar, has accepted resignations of the 6 sitting MLAs and one seat fell vacant due to death of Rajeswar Reddy of Mahbubnagar. If he goes ahead with disqualification of 16 MLAs who defied the whip in the recent no-confidence motion, the number may go up to 23. TD sources said that party has almost finalised names of three candidates in Mahbubnagar district. Playing Telangana card for Telangana leaders, Mr Naidu clarified that he is not against Telangana and that the Centre’s dithering on the issue was responsible for the present mess.

Mr Naidu who held discussions with party workers from Parakala and Station Ghanpur on Monday asserted that the party has a strong vote bank. “Our main rival in Telangana is the TRS. We will try to defeat TRS candidates or at least dent their vote bank for 2014 elections,” said a senior TD leader who attended a review meeting.

Related posts:

  1. TRS gearing up for by-polls
  2. Two T MLAs who quit Cong, meet Speaker
  3. Cong to contest Banswada by-polls
  4. TDP and Congress in a spot over Banswada By-polls
  5. TRS lures Nagam with party chief’s position
  6. Appeal to all T by-polls voters
  7. TRS in a bad spot in T by-polls
  8. Pressure on TDP and Congress not to contest by-polls
  9. TDP also to contest T by-polls
  10. Congress may skip T by-polls

Leave a Reply

Spam protection by WP Captcha-Free